ICE Releases Performance-Based National Detention Standards 2011 (April 2012)


In keeping with its commitment to reform the immigration detention system, U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) has revised its detention standards. These new standards, known as Performance-Based National Detention Standards 2011 (PBNDS 2011), represent an important step in detention reform.

PBNDS 2011 reflects ICE’s ongoing effort to tailor the conditions of immigration detention to its unique purpose while maintaining a safe and secure detention environment for staff and detainees. In developing the revised standards, ICE incorporated the input of many agency employees and stakeholders, including the perspectives of nongovernmental organizations and ICE field offices. PBNDS 2011 is crafted to improve medical and mental health services, increase access to legal services and religious opportunities, improve communication with detainees with limited English proficiency, improve the process for reporting and responding to complaints, and increase recreation and visitation.

CRCL collaborated with ICE on the development of the new standards, providing expertise and information resulting from complaint investigations, in numerous areas impacting detainee health and safety as well as in standards impacting detainees’ rights.

Read more about the PBNDS 2011.

Originally published at

Share post:

how to submit press release


More like this